Bryan Wynter – Monoprinting

Bryan Wynter was part of the St Ives group which is a group of British painters. This artist was very interested in nature and his paintings and other works of art got more and more abstract as the years went by. In his lifetime, he worked for several years in Cornwall where he developed his high interest in landscape, hence, nature. He was more well known for his constructions which he titles IMOOS which means Images Moving Out into Space. “Using a parabolic mirror, he would hang contrasting pairs of painted shapes, which rotated freely. Their reversed reflections enlarged, appearing to move in opposite directions”. However, I was more interested in his monoprint work. His monoprint titled Path through wood really interested me. I discovered this artist after I did the monoprinting workshop, however, I could in a way find a link between his work and one of the prints I did. His monoprint is about nature, it is based on a landscape. He also lived in Cornwall for several years which might have influenced his work. I think there could be a link with one of my prints as while I was making some of them, I tried to link them to the Eden project which is located in Cornwall. I also scraped the ink with a spatula to create the leaves and the different lines which one can also see in Bryan Wynter’s work. To enhance this idea of nature, and also because I have a big interest regarding litterature, I decided to write down one of Rudyard Kipling’s poems about nature.

Also, I mixed the yellow and blue ink which was still on the desk to make this dark green colour.

Leave a comment