Monoprint workshop – typography project

When we were doing the typography project, several workshops were going on during the two first weeks. One of the workshops I did during the first week of this project was monoprinting.

Before this workshop, I had never really heard of monoprinting before. When I asked people what monoprinting was, I still did not fully understand how it worked. I soon understood while doing the workshop that monoprinting was in fact quite easy and was a way of printing that was relatively quick as well. We first had to spread some ink on a glass surface with the help of a roller. After that, we only had to put a sheet of paper on the rolled out ink and draw on the pack of the paper. This prints out reversed on the other side of the paper. What I liked about monoprinting was that I never had a total control over the outcome of the printing. Sometimes, it did not come out at all as I wanted but I figured out it made an interesting design. I also started playing around with the ink. I started, with a spatula, to scrape the ink and then press the paper on it.

I mainly used a blue colored ink as I wanted to link it to the colour worksheets we did at the beginning of the year. I also linked some of the monoprinting to the Eden project by making a jungle-like pattern and printing out one of Rudyard Kipling’s poems about nature.

0

In the afternon, we cut out some letters in cardboard, stuck them to a sheet of paper, rolled ink over it and passed it through the pressing machine. I decided to use the word “transition” to link with the typography project.

 

Leave a comment